Posted by: cynchat | February 11, 2010

Valentine’s Day –

is this coming Sunday.   Okay, let’s chat!   I dated some guys who were very romantic and brought me the large heart shaped box of chocolates, yum.  BUT, I married the guy who wasn’t and didn’t.

So I spent the first few years of our marriage feeling sorry for myself on Valentine’s Day, my birthday, Christmas, etc.  At some point I decided to change the way I looked at that.  I reminded myself that although gifting wasn’t important to him, he did do “other” things for me – like wash the windows, change diapers, throw in laundry, and start supper if he got home before I did.  Those are pretty big gifts of service he gifted me regularly, so I decided to stop pouting and appreciate. 

However, I still wanted chocolates for Valentine’s Day!  My solution was to go buy a nice box of chocolates, take it home, and announce that “This is TO us; FROM us!”  Then I didn’t feel deprived, and we both enjoyed the chocolates….and the kids did too!

Once I’d read an article, I don’t remember where or when, that essentially said “Buy for yourself whatever you really want, then whatever you receive from others is just extra.”  That seemed like a really good idea!  Other people can’t read my mind, or know how important something might be to me…..especially if it isn’t that important to them.  Why should someone else have the job of making me happy?

Like Wayne Dwyer always says, “When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.”   Oh, so true!

There’s a link for Valentine fun things on Twitter: http://Twitter.com/CynChat

Here is my Chocolate Valentine treat for you – one of my favorite recipes – it’s German Chocolate Pie, and it makes its own crust.  Extremely simple to make and “to die for” yummy.  Enjoy!

German Chocolate Pie

1/2 package German Chocolate

1 cube butter

3 heaping tablespoons flour

3 eggs

1 C. sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

1-1/2 C. pecans

Melt chocolate and butter, set aside.  Mix flour, eggs, sugar & vanilla.  Stir about 3 minutes.  Pour in the chocolate mixture and blend.  Then add pecans.  Pour into buttered pie pan and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.  Cool and serve with whipped cream, if desired.

HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!

Responses

  1. Loved the pie recipe especially when I read that it did not contain COCONUT = yuk!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

